NHA Welcomes New 2024 Board Officers and Members


Washington, D.C. (December 13, 2023) – The National Hydropower Association today announced its new officers and members of the 2024 Board of Directors.  NHA’s 20-member board, comprised of forward-thinking leaders from every sector of the hydropower and marine energy industries, is dedicated to preserving and expanding America’s first renewable energy resource.

“Our incoming 2024 Board of Directors are exceptional individuals that are committed to advancing hydropower and marine energy as clean energy solutions,” said Malcolm Woolf, NHA President & CEO.

The Executive Officers of the Board of Directors who start their terms of service on January 1, 2024, are:

Chair: Pamala Sullivan, American Municipal Power

Vice Chairs: Heidi Wahto, Stantec and Christopher Rousseau, J.F. Brennan Company

Secretary: Sharon White, Rock Creek Energy Group

Treasurer: Eric Van Deuren, Pacific Gas and Electric Company

Immediate Past Chair: Mike Haynes, Seattle City Light

NHA is welcoming five newly elected members to its Board of Directors:

Carl Atkinson, Voith Hydro, Inc.

Scott Hennessey, Brookfield Renewable Energy Group (US)

Kelly Larimer, Kleinschmidt Associates

Jillian Lawrence, Hull Street Energy LLC

Preston Pierce, Duke Energy

The following members continue their terms into 2024 on the Board of Directors:

Suzanne Biddle, Tennessee Valley Authority

Suzanne Grassell, Chelan County Public Utility District

Sarah Kulpa, HDR

Jeff Leahey, SMI

Chris Mattson, Tacoma Power

Alan Michaels, New York Power Authority

Megan Nesbitt, ANDRITZ Hydro Corp.

Christopher Rousseau, J.F. Brennan Company, Inc.

Charles Sensiba, Troutman Pepper

Thomas St. John, Southern Company

Pamala Sullivan, American Municipal Power

Justin Trudell, FirstLight Power

Eric Van Deuren, Pacific Gas and Electric Company

Heidi Wahto, Stantec

Sharon White, Rock Creek Energy Group

In addition to the newly elected and continuing members, the Board also appointed the following five individuals from NHA member companies to serve as advisory members to the Board:

Mark Benacquisto, United Brotherhood of Carpenters (UBC) Millwrights

Todd Briggeman, Black & Veatch

Katia Debian, GE Vernova

Samantha Quinn, Pacific Ocean Energy Trust

Erik Steimle, Rye Development

NHA extends its thanks to our outgoing board members for putting our organization and the waterpower industry on a pathway to continued success. Leaving the Board at the conclusion of 2023 are:

Mike Haynes, Seattle City Light

Randy Herrin, Duke Energy

Mary Gail Sullivan, Northwestern Energy

The National Hydropower Association (NHA) is a nonprofit association dedicated exclusively to promoting the growth of clean, renewable hydropower and marine energy. The hydropower industry provides 31 percent of the nation’s renewable generation and 6 percent of overall electricity generation. In addition, pumped storage projects provide the majority of energy storage in the United States, making hydropower a critical resource to integrate increasing amounts of variable energy sources into America’s electricity system.