NHA Welcomes New 2022 Board Officers and Members

NHA Welcomes New 2022 Board Officers and Members

Washington, D.C. (December 15, 2021) – The National Hydropower Association today announced its new officers and members of the 2022 Board of Directors.  NHA’s 20-member board, comprised of forward-thinking leaders from every sector of the hydropower and marine energy industries, is dedicated to preserving and expanding America’s first renewable energy resource.

“We are thrilled to announce our incoming 2022 Board of Directors, and look forward to leveraging their guidance as we continue our mission of advocating for hydropower and marine energy as climate solutions. They bring a wealth of knowledge and experience that will prove to be invaluable to the industry as we move towards a clean energy future” said Malcolm Woolf, NHA President & CEO. “NHA extends its gratitude to outgoing Chair Jay Anders for his vision and leadership, and welcomes incoming Chair Mike Haynes. ”

“It is an honor and a privilege to be elected Chair of the NHA Board of Directors,” said Mike Haynes, Seattle City Light assistant general manager. “I look forward to continuing our great work to advance hydropower and marine energy as key to a clean energy future for the United States. The Board will help define the strategy to implement our legislative successes over the past year, and we will continue our focus on hydropower licensing reform, aiming to strike a balance that improves the process for all participants.”

The Executive Officers of the Board of Directors who start their terms of service on January 1, 2022 are:

  • Chair: Mike Haynes, Seattle City Light
  • Vice Chair: Jose Zayas, Eagle Creek Renewable Energy
  • Treasurer: David Culligan, HDR
  • Secretary: Mike Manwaring, McMillen Jacobs Associates
  • Immediate Past Chair: Jay Anders, Rye Development

NHA is also welcoming five new elected members to its Board of Directors:

  • Megan Nesbitt, GE Renewable Energy
  • Eric Van Deuren, PG&E
  • Thomas St. John, Southern Company
  • Chuck Sensiba, Troutman Pepper (2nd term)
  • Jay Anders, Rye Development (2nd term)

In addition to the newly elected members, the Board also appointed the following two individuals from NHA member companies to serve as advisory members on the Board:

  • Alan Michaels, New York Power Authority
  • Justin Trudell, FirstLight Power

As advisory members, they will serve a one-year term in a non-voting capacity.

Leaving the Board at the conclusion of 2021 are:

  • Debbie Mursch, GE Renewable Energy
  • Herbie Johnson, Southern Company
  • Andrew Munro, Grant County PUD
  • Reenst Lesemann, Columbia Power Technologies (Advisory Board Member)
  • Tom Sullivan, Gomez & Sullivan Engineers (Advisory Board Member)