NHA Welcomes New 2020 Board Officers and Members

NHA Welcomes New 2020 Board Officers and Members

Washington, D.C. (November 22, 2019) – The National Hydropower Association today announced its new officers and members of the 2020 Board of Directors.  NHA’s 20-member board, comprised of forward-thinking leaders from every sector of the hydropower and marine energy industry, is dedicated to preserving and expanding America’s first renewable energy resource.

“As an industry, we are privileged to have a deep bench of talented individual who are passionate about hydropower as America’s premier carbon-free, renewable energy resource, and we congratulate our incoming board leadership and new board members,” said Malcolm Woolf, NHA President & CEO. “NHA extends its thanks to outgoing Chair Alvin Thoma for his exemplary vision and leadership in putting NHA on a pathway for continued success.”

The Executive Officers of the Board of Directors who start their terms of service on January 1, 2020 are:

  • Chair: Jay Anders, Black & Veatch
  • Vice Chair: Mike Haynes, Seattle City Light
  • Treasurer: David Culligan, HDR
  • Secretary: Debbie Mursch, GE Renewables
  • Immediate Past Chair: Alvin Thoma, PG&E

NHA is also welcoming five new elected members to its Board of Directors. They are:

  • Scott Hennessy, Brookfield Renewables
  • Mary Gail Sullivan, Northwestern Energy
  • Carl Atkinson, Voith Hydro
  • Mike Hayes, Seattle City Light (2nd term)
  • Randy Herrin, Duke (2nd term)

In addition to the newly elected members, the Board also appointed the following two individuals from NHA member companies to serve as advisory members on the Board:

  • David Gatto, Ames Construction
  • Jeffrey Leahey, SMI

As advisory members, they will serve a one-year term in a non-voting capacity.

Leaving the Board at the conclusion of 2019 are:

  • Jane Cirrincione, Northern California Power Agency
  • Bob Gallo, Voith Hydro
  • Steve Boyd, Turlock Irrigation District
  • Travis Smith, SNC-Lavalin (Advisory Member)
  • Doug Spaulding, Nelson Energy (Advisory Member)