Southwestern Power Administration (SWPA)

Southwestern Power Administration (Southwestern or SWPA) was established in 1943 by the Secretary of the Interior as a Federal Agency that today operates within the Department of Energy under the authority of Section 5 of the Flood Control Act of 1944. By law, Southwestern’s power is marketed and delivered primarily to public bodies such as rural electric cooperatives and municipal utilities. Southwestern has over one hundred such “preference” customers, and these entities ultimately serve over 10 million end-use customers.


-One of four Power Marketing Administrations in the U.S.

-Markets cost-based, wholesale power and energy generated from 24 Federal, multi-purpose hydropower projects owned by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

-Service territory includes Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, and Texas.

Learn more here: