









April 24, 2017

The Honorable Kevin Brady Chairman U.S. House Committee on Ways and Means Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Richard Neal Ranking Democratic Member U.S. House Committee on Ways and Means Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Orrin Hatch Chairman U.S. Senate Finance Committee Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Ron Wyden Ranking Democratic Member U.S. Senate Finance Committee Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Brady, Chairman Hatch, Ranking Member Neal and Ranking Member Wyden:

All of our industries are struggling in the marketplace for new electricity generation as a result of being placed at a significant competitive disadvantage vis-à-vis wind and solar electricity by the long-term tax credit extensions provided to those technologies in 2015, while incentives for our industries were allowed to expire at the end of 2016. As the Congress works to modernize and reform the tax code, we ask that you provide parity among renewable electricity technologies by giving baseload electricity generation technologies long-term extensions equivalent to those provided to the solar industry.

The production and use of firm, reliable baseload power from renewable energy is consistent with sound energy and environmental policy. Power from hydropower; geothermal; biomass; biogas and waste-to-energy facilities is critical to the stability of the electric grid, creates high-paying jobs, and helps the country meet its environmental and energy policy objectives.

To reap the significant energy security, environmental and economic benefits associated with the production and use of baseload renewable energy, we respectfully urge you to put an end to the "winners and losers" dynamic in energy tax policy and enact even handed, durable extensions of the incentives.

Thank you in advance for your consideration, and we look forward to working constructively with you to achieve this worthwhile policy outcome.

Sincerely,

Linda Church Ciocci, Executive Director

Par Ellen

Linda Church Ciocci, Executive Director National Hydropower Association

Robert E. Cleaves, IV, President and CEO Biomass Power Association

Karl Gawell, Executive Director Geothermal Energy Association Patrick Serfass, Executive Director American Biogas Council

Ted Michaels, President Energy Recovery Council

Tel Minhung