

PRESS RELEASE

25 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W. · Suite 450 · Washington, D.C., 20001 · 202/682-1700 · www.hydro.org

Media Contact: Matthew Nocella 202/682-1700 ex. 21 · matt@hydro.org

For Immediate Release

NHA announces new leadership for 2012-2013

PG&E's Moller elected to second term as NHA President

Washington, D.C. (April 17, 2012) – The National Hydropower Association today introduced its new officers and board members at the association's annual conference in Washington, D.C.

At its January 2012 meeting, the NHA Board elected the following officers to the Executive Committee: President and CEO – David Moller, Pacific Gas and Electric Company Vice President – Cherise Oram, Stoel Rives

Treasurer – Eric Van Duren, Mead & Hunt
Secretary – Suzanne Grassell, Chelan County Public Utility District

"The incoming leadership team is composed of strategically-minded professionals with an ambitious vision for the Association's future," said NHA Executive Director Linda Church Ciocci. "There is much to be done in the coming year to advance hydropower's role as America's premier clean energy technology. This talented group makes me certain of our continuing success."

David Moller of Pacific Gas and Electric Company serves as President and CEO for a second consecutive term, after serving as Secretary and Vice President in previous terms. Moller is Director of Power Generation for Pacific Gas and Electric Company, a large investor-owned utility serving central and northern California which operates the largest privately-owned hydropower system in the nation. With more than 35 years experience in licensing, development and operation of hydropower projects ranging in size from one megawatt to the 1,212 megawatt Helms Pumped Storage Project, Moller is an experienced industry veteran.

"Already our country's largest clean energy technology, hydropower is poised for sustained, environmentally responsible growth," said Moller. Last year we focused on getting out hydropower's message as an essential tool in the clean energy toolbox — one that also helps integrate wind and solar into the grid and can provide large-scale energy storage. This coming year is all about execution."

Moller's priorities include securing passage of legislation to promote hydropower growth in the United States, achieve a more efficient regulatory process, inclusion of hydropower in clean energy programs and incentives, promoting operational excellence, proactive outreach to federal regulators and river advocacy groups, and making sure the Association is meeting its members' needs.

NHA is also welcoming five new members to its Board of Directors. They are: Jane Cirrincione, Northern California Power Agency Kevin Frank, Voith Hydro Kirby Gilbert, MWH Americas

Lisa Grow, Idaho Power Steve Wenke, Avista

In addition, five new members will also join the Advisory Board:
John Barnes, Exelon Power
John Claybrook, Alstom
Wayne Dyok, Alaska Energy Authority
Jeanne Hilsinger, Mavel
John Suloway, New York Power Authority

"Hydropower is an available, reliable, affordable and sustainable energy resource. Expanding U.S. hydro capacity is key to achieving a clean energy future and job creation," said Church Ciocci. "Having a strong board that understands the opportunities and challenges of the coming year is integral. I'm excited to congratulate and welcome the new board members and officers to the NHA team."

###