



25 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W. · Suite 450 · Washington, D.C., 20001 · 202/682 - 1700 · www.hydro.org

Media Contact: Matthew Nocella 202/682-1700 ex. 21 · matt@hydro.org

For Immediate Release

New NHA leadership for 2014-2015 announced

American Municipal Power's Marc Gerken to continue as NHA President

Washington, D.C. (April 28, 2014) – The National Hydropower Association today introduced its new officers and board members at the association's annual conference in Washington, D.C.

At its February 2013 meeting, the NHA Board elected the following officers to the Executive Committee:

- President Marc Gerken, American Municipal Power
- Vice President Jane Cirricione, Northern California Power Agency
- Treasurer Eric Van Duren, Pacific Gas & Electric
- Secretary Steve Wenke, Avista

"The incoming leadership team is composed of strategically-minded professionals with an ambitious vision for the Association's future," said NHA Executive Director Linda Church Ciocci. "There is much to be done in the coming year to strengthen the business and policy environment for hydropower. Coming off a year of extraordinary success, this talented group makes me certain that NHA will continue to make great strides advancing the association and the industry as a whole.."

Marc Gerken will serve as President for a second consecutive term. Gerken is President and CEO of American Municipal Power, a nonprofit wholesale power supplier and services provider for member municipal electric systems in seven states. Gerken began his career as a civil engineer working extensively in the public sector on infrastructure projects, including transportation, water, wastewater and storm water improvements.

"Already our country's largest clean energy technology, hydropower is poised for sustained, environmentally responsible growth," said Gerken. "Last year we did what no other organization was able to do: secure passage of energy legislation. This year, NHA will turn to implementing those reforms and exploring what further improvements can be made to the regulatory process."

NHA is also welcoming five new members to its Board of Directors. They are:

- Debbie Mursch, Alstom
- Pat McCarty, Tacoma Power
- Ken Poletti, Exelon Power
- Herbie Johnson, Southern Company
- Tom Heller, Missouri River Energy Services

In addition, five new members will also join the Advisory Board:

- Paul Lau, Sacramento Municipal Utility District
- David Sinclair, Advanced Hydro Solutions

"The U.S. hydropower industry has many exciting opportunities ahead," said NHA Executive Director Linda Church Ciocci. "Having a strong board that understands the opportunities and challenges of the coming year will be integral to our success. I'm excited to welcome the new board members and officers to our team."

###