Chugach Electric Association is a member-owned cooperative and the largest electric utility in Alaska. Headquartered in Anchorage, Chugach serves more than 83,000 metered locations in an area extending from Anchorage to the northern Kenai Peninsula, and from Whittier on Prince William Sound, to Tyonek on the west side of Cook Inlet. Chugach was incorporated in Alaska in March 1948, with funding under the Rural Electrification Act of 1936. In 1991, the company refinanced and paid off its federal debt, leaving the REA program.  Chugach ranks among the largest of the more than 900 electric cooperatives in the nation.