Environmental Defense Fund * Energy Management, Inc. * Florida Power & Light *
Free Flow Power * Global Energy Horizons, Inc. * Hydropower Reform Coalition *
Independent Natural Resources, Inc. * National Hydropower Association * Natural
Heritage Institute * Natural Resources Defense Council * New England Marine
Renewable Energy Center * Ocean Champions * Ocean Power Technologies * Ocean
Renewable Power Company, LLC * Oregon Wave Energy Trust * Oceana Energy
Company * Oceanlinx Ltd * Oregon State University, Hatfield Marine Science Center *
Oregon State University, National Marine Renewable Energy Center * Pacific Energy
Ventures LLC * Pacific Gas & Electric * Portland General Electric * Sonnenschein, Nath
& Rosenthal LLP * Surfrider Foundation * WaveBob LLC

May 20, 2009

Dear President Obama,

In November our ad hoc coalition of environmentalists, technology and project developers, utilities, academics and local governments wrote to make you aware of our groundbreaking "statement of joint principles" regarding development of ocean renewable energy from waves, tides, and ocean currents.

As we noted then, the oceans are a huge potential source of clean energy; estimates indicate they could supply 10% of current U.S. demand. In our letter, we urged your new Administration to swiftly move to clarify a regulatory regime for ocean renewable energy technologies by resolving a long-standing conflict between the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) and the Department of Interior's Minerals Management Service (MMS) regarding jurisdiction over hydrokinetic projects on the Outer Continental Shelf.

We found a receptive ear when we met with members of your transition team in December and had high hopes that your Administration would demonstrate strong leadership in this arena. We have not been disappointed. Less than ninety days after your inauguration, FERC and MMS have signed an MOU resolving their conflict, and your Administration appears committed to pushing forward on a number of other recommendations from our "principles" document. We want to extend a hearty "thank you" to you and the members of your team who have worked on this issue, and for doing so much to advance development of renewable energy.

In particular, we want to single out Interior Secretary Ken Salazar and FERC Chairman Jon Wellinghoff for praise; they personally negotiated the agreement that led to the signing of the MOU between their agencies, after a stand-off persisted without resolution for three years under the previous Administration. Secretary Salazar and Chairman Wellinghoff have demonstrated exemplary leadership and are to be commended.

In addition, we are aware that the Council for Environmental Quality, under the leadership of its Chair, Nancy Sutley, has also been positively engaged and extraordinarily helpful in moving matters forward.

As both the MOU and the MMS Final Rule on Renewable Energy on the OCS make clear, there are a number of policy issues that still must be resolved in this arena. We look forward to working with Secretary Salazar, Chairman Wellinghoff, Chair Sutley, NOAA Administrator Dr. Jane Lubchenco and other members of your Administration on subsequent initiatives to advance development of ocean renewable energy in environmentally responsible ways. We will write to them in the next few weeks to discuss proposals regarding these next actions in more detail.

Sincerely,

Diane Regas

Associate Vice President, Oceans Environmental Defense Fund 1875 Connecticut Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20009

Dennis J. Duffy

Vice President Regulatory Affairs Energy Management, Inc. 75 Arlington Street

Boston, MA 02116

Armando Oliveria

President & CEO Florida Power & Light

armanlo & Olivern

700 Universe Blvd.

Juno Beach, FL 33408

Jason Hines

Vice President, Business Development

Free Flow Power

33 Commercial Street

Gloucester, MA 01930

Ri Mi

Richard Redoglia Executive Director

Global Energy Horizons, Inc.

P.O. Box 9760

Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067

John Seebach

Chair

Hydropower Reform Coalition 1101 14th St NW, Suite 1400 Washington, DC 20005

Mark Thomas

President & CEO

Independent Natural Resources, Inc.

7466 Washington Avenue South

Eden Prairie, MN 55344

Linda Church Ciocci

Executive Director

National Hydropower Association

1 Massachusetts Ave., NW, Suite 850

Xinsa Church Circui

Washington, DC 20001

Richard Rome Call.

Richard Roos-Collins Director, Legal Services Natural Heritage Institute 100 Pine St., Suite 1550 San Francisco, CA 94111

Sarah Chasis

Senior Attorney & Director, Ocean Initiative Natural Resources Defense Council 40 West 20th Street New York, NY 10011

John Miller Director

New England Marine Renewable Energy Center (MREC) 151 Martine Street

Fall River, MA 02723

flh ma

David Wilmot President

Ocean Champions 202 San Jose Ave.

Capitola, CA 95010

Dr. George W. Taylor **Executive Chairman** Ocean Power Technologies

1590 Reed Road Pennington, NJ 08534

Chris Sauer, CEO Ocean Renewable Power Co. LLC 2 Portland Fish Pier, Suite 307 Portland, ME 04101

Kevin Banister President

Oregon Wave Energy Trust

P.O. Box 8626

Portland, OR 97207

Mike Hoover

Secretary, Treasurer & General Counsel

Oceana Energy Company

1785 Massachusetts Ave., NW

Washington, DC 20036

/s/

Stuart Bensley

Director

Oceanlinx Ltd

New South Wales, Australia

Dr. George Boehlert

Professor and Director, Hatfield Marine

Science Center

Oregon State University

2030 SE Marine Science Dr.

Newport, OR 97365

Rolt Poach

Robert Paasch Interim Director National Marine Renewable Energy Center College of Engineering Oregon State University Corvallis, OR 97331

Steve Kopf Partner

Pacific Energy Ventures LLC 2020 SW Main St., Suite 703 Portland, OR 97205

Steven L. Kline

Vice-President, Corporate Environmental & Federal Affairs Pacific Gas & Electric One Market, Spear Tower, Suite 2400

San Francisco, CA 94105

Julie Keil

Director of Hydro Licensing & Water

giffel

Rights

Portland General Electric 121 SW Salmon Street

Portland, OR 97204

V117_

Thomas C. Jensen
Partner & Team Leader, Renewable
Energy and Natural Resources Practice
Sonnenschein, Nath & Rosenthal LLP
1301 K Street, N.W.
Suite 600, East Tower
Washington, DC 20005

Jim Moriarty

Chief Executive Officer Surfrider Foundation P.O. Box 6010

San Clemente, CA 92674

a level the the

Derek Robertson WaveBob LLC

420 Chinquapin Round Rd, Suite I Annapolis, MD 21401

Secretary Salazar Chairman Wellinghoff Chair Sutley Administrator Lubchenco cc: